Division 1 & 2

Written by Ann Ward. Posted in Gala Results, Latest News

Leinster Age Groups Championship Division 1 & 2


A team of twenty swimmers aged 10 to 14 travelled to the National Aquatic Centre for the two day Regional Age Group Championships. The team were led by coaches John Murray and Irina Dawson and included Sorcha Ahearne, Abby Byrne, Anna Cahill, Max Coulahan,
Zoe Coulahan, Sarah Doody, Sarah Gordon, Michael Hanbury, Brian Hutton, Daisy Kehoe, Ethan Kenny, Ana Lazarut, Lili Markey, Aoibhinn McDonald, James McDonald, Dylan McGrath, Ellen O’Byrne, Jorge Pancorbo de la Rosa, Sara Sallai and Jake Whelan.



There were lots of medals and Personal Bests recorded over the 2 days with a total of ninety
swims. Brian Hutton and Sara Sallai both recorded their first qualifying times for the Irish
Summer Nationals – Division 1, a huge achievement while Sarah Gordon and Jorge Pancorbo
de la Rosa achieved their first qualifying times for Irish Age Groups Division 2 Championship
to be held in University of Limerick in early July. A team of twenty three swimmers from the
club ranging in age from ten to eighteen years have now qualified for national competitions
this summer.



The Leinster Division 2 medal winners in their respective age groups were:

  • Abby Byrne: 200m Backstroke: Gold
  • Anna Cahill: 200m Backstroke: Silver
  • Max Coulahan: 200m Individual Medley: Silver, 200m Freestyle: Bronze
  • Michael Hanbury: 200m Breaststroke: Silver
  • Ethan Kenny: 200m Breaststroke: Gold
  • Ana Lazarut: 100m Freestyle: Silver, 100m Backstroke: Silver
  • Lili Markey: 200m Backstroke: Bronze, 100m Butterfly: Bronze
  • Aoibhinn McDonald: 200m Backstroke: Bronze, 200m Breaststroke: Silver
  • Ellen O’Byrne: 200m Individual Medley: Silver
  • Sara Sallai: 200m Freestyle: Gold
  • Jake Whelan: 100m Butterfly: Gold, 200m Backstroke: Gold

Six of these swimmers also reached the finals of the Division 1 competition against a very
strong field of swimmers:

  • Abby Byrne: 100m Butterfly
  • Brian Hutton: 100m Butterfly and 100m Breaststroke
  • Lili Markey: 200m Individual Medley and 200m Breaststroke
  • Dylan McGrath: 200m Breaststroke
  • Sara Sallai: 50m Freestyle
  • Jake Whelan: 200m Individual Medley and 200m Freestyle




Contact Us

St. Fiacc's Swimming Pool,
Co. Carlow

087 6008729
eMail us

Qualifing Times

Irish National Championships, Qualifying Times